Small Estate Laws In General
Small Estate laws were enacted in order to enable people to obtain property of the deceased without probate, or with shortened probate proceedings. As usual, there are a bunch of conditions to be met. The result is that small estates can avoid probate and e administered at less cost and with less time.
Connecticut Small Estate Law
Under the Connecticut statute, a small estate valued at $40,000 or less and with no solely owned real estate can be transferred without probate. The surviving spouse, next of kin or and interested party file an affidavit of small estate with the court of probate. The CT Statute is C.G.S.§45a-273. The probate form is PC-212.
This is extremely useful in small estates and can be used to transfer a car. However, the amount of money the decedent can have is small.
The Connecticut probate forms can be found here: Connecticut Probate Forms.
Transfer of a Car after Death in Connecticut
First, the owner of a motor vehicle can provide for beneficiary on the registration certificate in writing. In that case, he beneficiary has to make
application to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 60 days of the date of death. C.G.S.§14-16. Otherwise, the car would have to be transferred under a probate proceeding or under the small estate proceeding described above.
The Connecticut DMV advice can be found here.